Continuing with the texting theme…

Hey guys. :) As a side note, my previous blogs haven’t done very well, and as a result I was a bit pessimistic as to how well this one would go. It’s weird, but every time someone comments or likes a post, I go crazy! So thanks guys! Also, revision getting you down? Been postponing, I’ll try and knuckle down soon… honestly.

Anyway, continuing with texting… how many times have you been guilty of using LOL or ROTFL or BTW when speaking? Be honest…

I suppose ten years ago this would have been strange, but I think soon these might be words in the Oxford Dictionary. Perhaps they already are (I don’t know, my family’s dictionary is from the 1990s)?

A few of you might have in your homes a What PC? Guide to your PC at home, back from when computing was in it’s infancy and the internet was a pointless time-waster used by people with nothing better to do (still is :)). I had one in my shelf from 1999, and leafed through it a few months ago, sniggering at every out-of-date phrase or paragraph. (It was refreshing to see there wasn’t a mention of Apple anywhere in the book).

It’s quite fun to go back to books like this, and laugh at how outdated they are. Indeed, there is a list of acronyms that though in 1999 may have been top-of-the-range, clearly didn’t catch on. I’ll only post the best, but most of them are so funny that that’s pretty much all of them!

AFAIK – As far as I know

BCNU – Be seeing you

BST – But seriously though

FWIW – For what it’s worth

INMHO – In my humble opinion

IMNSHO – In my not-so-humble opinion (too many letters…)

KISS – Keep it simple, stupid! (Don’t swoon when you see this in a text ;))

OAO – Over and out (in my opinion, this looks like an owl)

PITA – Pain in the…

Something tells me I still have much more fun to have with this. ;) Any other things from the past that may have been cutting edge once but look laughable now (preferably software, I’m that kind of person)? Leave it in the comments!

Joe, OAO. LOL, FWIW I’ll BCNU L8R!

Leave a Reply

