Noughts and Crosses Review (not the game)

First up: I moved back into my room today. Yay!

Why did you move out? I hear cry. Construction? New sibling? You were on holiday?

Well no, not exactly… I had been tidying out my two big boxes of paper. Perhaps you don’t understand the significance of this. Everything goes into these boxes… As usual, I sorted the content into piles, got bored, and just left the piles lying around. The clincher is that one of them was on my chair, and with no chair, I couldn’t write in my room… so I went downstairs. My laptop had already been brought down so I followed it.

Blogging downstairs hasn’t been a problem, but editing my story has. I’ve realised that I hate editing, and even more downstairs, where it’s either too noisy or too hot… all the time. Hopefully, now I’ve got back into my room, I can crack down.

And on that note…

It’s time for my review of the book Noughts and Crosses, by Malorie Blackman! Not the game. Nope. You’re thinking of the game. Stop. This is a depressing, dystopian, novel. Not a children’s game.

I think a while ago, I said I would do a post called Problems with the Gone Series, and that it would be the first in a lot of book posts? That kind of failed. So from now on, I’m going to do the occasional book review, or book-related post. Who knows, maybe that Gone post will surface sometime in the future? ;)

Noughts and Crosses is essentially racism turned upside down. The black people, or Crosses, are the leaders, and exert a lot of power over the white Noughts, who were formerly their slaves and have next to no rights. Sephy is a Nought and Callum is a Cross, and they love each other.  o_O Well this will end badly.

When I said, racism turned upside down, I’m not talking about racism today, every present but in the minority compared to the billions of non-racists. I’m talking, 1900s America, Deep South racism – x 100. Meanwhile, the Liberation Militia are ever present, fighting against the Noughts by using bombing and terrorism. But the racist Noughts are the same, if not worse, than the racists Crosses, so don’t start to think of them as Martin Luther King Jnr personified.

In a nutshell, this book can be described in one word: depressing. An amazing book (as in it’s really good) but depressing. There are at least two attempted suicides, dysfunctional families, divorces, agonisingly close missed opportunities, hanging, forbidden love, blackmail, dying, extreme racism, class divide, terrorism, betrayal, alcoholism, teenage pregnancy and grumpy people. The fact that it’s partly based on the experiences of Malorie Blackman, who is black, when she was a child, as well as the treatment of the ‘Stephen Lawrence case’ makes you want to go… DAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!

I don’t know how she does it. It’s like Ebeneezer Scrooge had a nightmare, Shakespeare thought of Romeo and Juliet, and the two ideas were mixed together.

But don’t let you put that off. It truly is a gripping book… sometimes, you’ll find yourself crying ‘Why did he have to die?!’ or something similar in your head, but you’ll be hooked the whole way through. Though not for the young ones. There is the whole bit where Sephy has a child with Callum… to put it nicely.

Now to finish the series…

Joe.

2 thoughts on “Noughts and Crosses Review (not the game)

  1. I have read the entire series and I loved it! The first one is probably my favourite though because of Callum and Sephy. It is depressing but not everything has to be sunshine and rainbows to be interesting, in fact normally the more anguish the more interesting it is I find.

Leave a Reply

