Rise of the Awards

NARRATOR: DEEP IN A POST APOCALYPTIC WORLD WHERE AWARDS HAVE TAKEN OVER, A BOY WRITES IN HIS JOURNAL, IN THE HOPE THAT ONE DAY, WHEN HUMANITY BREAKS FREE, IT WILL BE DISCOVERED. TO PROTECT HIS IDENTITY, HE HAS TAKEN ON A PSEUDONYM WHICH SHALL NEVER BE CRACKED, DUE TO IT BEING EXTREMELY, MIND-NUMBINGLY COMPLICATED.

EOJ: I can’t believed I endorsed them at first: Versatile Blogger Award; Liebster Award;  the Most Creative Blogger Award; the Reader Appreciation Award; the Lovely Blog Award and the Semper Fidelis Award. How could I have treated them with pride? But I couldn’t have known. They turned on me. One moment, they were tokens of blog appreciation; next, they turned into computer viruses and slowly infected the whole of the internet, but remained invisible until the day they suddenly activated and destroyed every webpage in existence. Eventually we were left isolated. I can only hope that one day, another Sir Tim Berners Lee will rise, and build another Internet – and slowly we will regain control, one and for all.

***

Sorry about that, my computer went funny for a second… I wonder who ‘Eoj’ is?

Anyway, to the awards…

Edit: If you want to know at a quick glance if you have an award (as this is a long post) the full list is…

If I’ve missed any of you out, I promise it was not intentional! Please tell me. Also, I may not get the Harry Potter pictures up for a while due to school, but I’ll tell you when they appear. The lovely Geeky G4mer nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award slightly more than a week ago, which I am very grateful for, as I very much admire her blog. So thank you! I have to thank the nominator, nominate 7 people, write 7 facts about myself and put the banner on my blog. But I’m going to be lazy. Instead of writing loads of different facts about myself, I’ll do eleven, which is the highest number of answers required of all my awards, at the very end of this post. ;)

So, to nominate my nominees…

  1. [insertnamehere]
  2. Three Magical
  3. Pessimistic Leprechaun
  4. Funny For Nothing
  5. The Primate Informant
  6. It Does Not Do to Dwell on Dreams and Forget to Live
  7. (The) Punchy Lands

The amazing mushroomsup from Funny for Nothing nominated me for loads of awards, for which I was slightly surprised. It’s as if that guy on the street is giving out free candy. It was almost too good to be true.

First, the Most Creative Blogger Award; there are no rules for this, but you can nominate as many people as you like. I’m not sure my blog posts have been particularly creative, but oh well.

I’m going to nominate…

Special mention to Jon Negroni, for this post in particular, and the What If? Blog, because in effect the whole blog is based on creativity.  Also the blog The Punchy Lands because Professor V.J. Duke created an entirely separate universe (although, more discovered).You are also nominated.

And the Semper Fidelis Award. This is probably my favourite of the lot. The rules…

  • Add the logo and thank the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 5 bloggers whose loyalty and friendship you value and you consider being part of your ‘pack of wolves’ on WordPress.
  • Post something special for each one of your nominees and dedicate it to them. This can be a quote, saying, poem, picture, or anything you think that would fit that person.
  • Let the nominees know that you’ve nominated them.

Because I’m lazy, and not because I don’t appreciate these blogs, I’ll do all of my ‘tributes’ here, in this post.

[insertnamehere]

Drumroll please!

[insert  here]

Pessimistic Leprechaun

Three Magical

Three Magical

I challenge Aliyaaa to find the three hidden messages in this picture!

The Geeky G4mer

Geeky G4mer

Punchy Lands

I tried to be creative with all of these (to a certain extent). I combined certain images, and cut bits out of others (no copyright infringement meant by the way). Other times, I just picked an image from the internet. For some of you (especially Punchy Lands) I couldn’t find or make an image that really worked. Feel proud. You’re a mysterious individual.

One of the weird things about blogging is that you get to converse with people who you would never talk to in real life. They could be in different countries, or a lot older than you (this is the case for the a lot of bloggers I admire). It’s slightly creepy if you think about it. :? But thank you guys for having such awesome blogs, and for reading mine!

Next, the Reader Appreciation Award. The rules…

1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.

2. Answer 10 questions (detailed below) about yourself, if you want to. (since this is optional, and I’m lazy and need to get on with the other awards, I won’t do this step, but if the people who I nominate want to answer any of these questions, see this post, which is one of the first that came up when I searched ‘Reader Appreciation Award’ into Google. ;))

3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you love. Or you pick the number.

4. Contact the nominated bloggers to let them know.

5. Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you with a link in your blog.

Nominations…

Finally, the Liebster Award. I was nominated by mushroomsup, but even before her, by [insertnamehere], which is an amazing blog which actually inspired me to start blogging! You have to nominate at least two people, post eleven facts about yourself answer the eleven questions sent by your nominator, and post eleven questions for your nominees (there are lots of variants on the Liebster Award rules, perhaps because it’s such a popular award, but these are pretty much the ones I’m using).

My nominations are:

Then the questions… Because I got nominated by two people, I will attempt to add 22 questions. o_O ‘I’ is [insertnamehere] and ‘F’ is Funny for Nothing. Be prepared… this could get confusing.

I 1) Favourite word?

A) Antidisestablishmentarianism. :P

F1 (hey, what do you know?)): If you had to think of another name for your blog, what would it be?

A) Confessions of an Everythingphile. I would change it in a heartbeat, presumably because I haven’t posted about Technology for around a month. But the URL is set in stone.

I 2) Best ‘yo mama’ joke that you know?

A) No comment.

F 2) What’s your favourite quote/ saying?

A) I don’t really have one.

I 3) Name the weirdest hobby you have.

A) I don’t have any ‘weird’ hobbies, but I am writing a novel, which I don’t think many people do.

F 3) What’s the worst joke you’ve made/ heard?

A) When it was raining on the first day of secondary school, I said, “It’s raining cats and dogs – literally!” I always make bad jokes when I’m nervous. It didn’t even make sense. :? I’ve probably done worse, but I can’t remember.

I 4) Favourite food?

A) Sheperd’s Pie, but without the pastry bit. That might sound weird, but it’s delicious. Mmm..

F 4) What’s your favourite television show?

A) I’m not sure, I have a wide variety. No particular genre.

I 5) Why do you like blogging?

A) It’s like writing a story, but without the heavy word count; plus, you can blurt out your ramblings and no one will blink an eyelid.

F 5) Describe yourself in one word.

Strange.

I 6) How many views does your blog have?

A) At the time of writing, 1335.

F 6) Do you have an object that you consider to be your lucky charm?

Nothing really, although I wear a rosary to bed every night. I used to wear it when I had nightmares, but then it became habit (not that I constantly have nightmares).

I 7) What’s your worst habit?

A) I sometimes speak really loudly for no reason, and not even on purpose.

F 7) Which type of chocolate is best: white, milk or dark?

Dark, as it’s the only one I can have. ;)

I 8) What’s your best feature?

A) I’m relatively friendly.

F 8) What’s the best non-fiction book you’ve read?

A) All the Horrible Science books are really good, but I started reading The Emperor of All Maladies, and it was very good. I didn’t finish it, but I hope to in the future.

I 9) Best comeback you’ve ever said?

A) No comment. I’m not a comeback kind of person.

F 9) What’s your favourite word?

A) See I 1)

I 10) Favourite film?

A) Toughie. I have many favourite films, but I really like HP and the Deathly Hallows Part I.

F 10) Are you [a] philosophical person?

A) I’m religious, and at times I can be philosophical, but generally not.

I 11) –

F 11) What is the capital of Greenland?

A) No comment. :P

Now for my questions to my nominees…

  1. If you were an animal, what animal would you be?
  2. Your most prominent hobby?
  3. Your favourite fandom?
  4. Writing or typing?
  5. Pianos or electric keyboards?
  6. If you could change one feature about yourself, what would it be?
  7. Do you have a pet?
  8. Your dream job for the future?
  9. What feature do you most appreciate in a person?
  10. Favourite music artist? None or ‘I’m not sure’ will be fine.
  11. How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood? (Feel free to make up any answer you like).

Apologies for the cheesy questions, that was hard to do. *phew*

And finally, the eleven facts. This also applies to the One Lovely Blog Award.

  1. I am going back to school tomorrow. :?
  2. One of my flaws is that I fiddle too much and can often point out the obvious. Oh look, a chair!
  3. I am not unmusical, but I don’t listen to music. I just haven’t gotten into it yet. I can play the piano and do music theory, but although I appreciate how awesome songs can be, I don’t find much enjoyment listening to music.
  4. I can do a strange gargling noise with my throat.
  5. I have dark circles around my eyes. I’m not exactly one for sleep. ;)
  6. I was born in Scotland, but never picked up the accent.
  7. My first memory is a dream.
  8. I am something of an Apple fanboy.
  9. I can speak very quickly, and sometimes do.
  10. In books I’m pretty unpicky when it comes to genres (apart from romance and horror) but I like fantasy, sci-fi, and mystery in particular.
  11. My favourite subject is Maths, to the bemusement of many.

Sigh. Well now that’s out of the way, there’s only school left. I’m half excited to get back into a sort of rhythm and meet all of my old friends and see my new form, that sort of stuff – but also, it’s school. No further explanation required. My posts will obviously get more (edit: I meant less!) frequent, but I’ll try and post as often as I can, at least once a week.

Joe, posting for the last time in the Summer Holidays. *sigh*

P.S. I know I missed an OT post (it’s annoying that everything always happens on a Saturday). I can’t be bothered to catch up, but I will post on Saturday.

22 thoughts on “Rise of the Awards

  1. Aww at posting for the last time in the Summer Holidays :( Yay!! for nominations, thank you, thank you, I’m running out of random facts :)
    That was a whole loada posting right there, well done :) School should be easy by comparison lol

  2. Congrats on the awards. Your special mention of my blog Okay, what if? saying the whole blog was based on creativity is probably the best thing anyone has said about it yet. Much appreciated and you gave me a huge smile.

  3. Pingback: AWARDS!!!! | theprimateinformant
  4. Pingback: What if I multi-tasked my 100th post? | Okay, what if ?
  5. Congratz on the all awards and of course thank you for the nomination! Not sure why I didn’t see this post earlier…

    I’ve been staring at the picture you made me (it’s really cool, thank you :) ) and I can only find two things. Toy Story and the Harry Potter… I need a clue for the third!

Leave a Reply

