January in a nutshell

The last time I was here it was December 30  (I know it says December 31, but when I published the post it was past 11:00 and WordPress hasn’t adjusted to the end of Daylight Saving Time… I am waiting eagerly for March 30).

As it stands, we have a lot to catch up on, so this will be one of my long posts. I know that some of you don’t have time to waste on reading a 75000 word post, so I have devised a little system where anything in black font is necessary reading – everything else is optional. So this is optional.

Obviously I have to start at the New Year and with my resolutions. As per typical last-minute fashion, I made mine twenty minutes before on Apple Notes. Notes promptly decided to delete them all the next day for no apparent reason, so I can’t say for sure these are all my resolutions:

  • Don’t sing as much
  • Read the New Testament every day.
  • Finish my novel by the end of the year.
  • Do one hour of homework a day.
  • Get some sleep.
  • Read 15 novels.

The first one probably requires some explanation. Recently I developed the habit of randomly bursting into song for no apparent reason in situations that require absolutely no reason to sing. I would give High School Musical a run for it’s money. I feel I also have to mention Les Mis, but I don’t sing that much. This has way to many adverbs.

My sister was getting increasingly annoyed at this, so this was mainly to appease her.

My grand plan was to also have smaller monthly goals that fitted in with each big goal. This was really only with my book, so not much of a plan, but I like to think so anyway. With things I had to do every day (i.e. homework), I was allowed to make small allowances, but by the end of January, I had to be completely in the habit. That sort of failed, and the same with sleep… but ah well, can any of you honestly say you kept your resolutions?

Veering back on track, we celebrated New Year’s in style by watching the fireworks and partying late into the night! Well the fireworks were broadcast on BBC 1 and there wasn’t really a party, but next time I’m sure it’ll be just like The Great Gatsby trailer!

After that we let the rest of the holiday simmer away and school started again. There was obviously lot’s of inner groaning, but I like that I’m back with my friends. Our school, eager to give us our late Christmas presents, did not disappoint. TESTS! SO MANY TESTS!

After these were over, school became a bit more interesting. I recently started cooking Food Technology. It’s been fun so far, but I can’t say my efforts have been appreciated. The first day I brought home fruit salad. Yes I put in tomatoes, and yes, it was a stupid move. But has anyone considered I was rebelling against the norms of society and putting tomatoes in because #YOLO, #rebel…? OK, I promise never to do that again. Whether it was because of this or because healthy, no-one really seemed to want it.

The next week I came home with spicy tomato soup. One told me it was too spicy (I promise my family is Indian) and turned it down, and my other sisters weren’t keen on it either. My parents were the only ones willing to finish it off with me, so thanks to them. :)

There has been the occasional fun lesson. In Geography we pretended to be countries in the EU and traded with pens, scissors and paper… in English we had to write about Twelfth Night in the style of a gossip magazine (But if Olivia is seeing someone, who could it be?)… and a rap about the Caribbean in Music. Most other stuff has been standard fare. There have, as always, been a few interesting stories, animal-based political parties, and interesting conversations, but these generally contain other people, but I’m not going to go into those at present.

I also got back my Grade 3 results. I passed with merit! *yippee*

I have also gone into reading overdrive. 2013 was not a good year for me in terms of reading, (probably because I started blogging) but it seems that 2014 is going to be slightly bonkers. First I started with a surplus of Christmas books left over from the holiday period – then I actively tried to read books from the BBC Big Read – and before I know it, I have a hundred books that are half-finished and no sign of dusting off any of them. (Book reviews coming as soon as I finish them).

I am slightly worried I am becoming a bit of a posh book reader, who only glances at a dust jacket if it belongs to a book on the BBC Big Read. Also someone who says long sentences because they make me sound more sophisticated. The idea of being well-read appeals to me, but I need to keep it in check by reading other equally good (but not as famous) books. As soon as possible, I’m going to pick books because the cover looks nice and not because it’s on a list.

Finally I would like to say thank you very much for 3000 views! The milestone was passed a while ago, but better late than never. I am really grateful, and I promise I’m not going to desert you for another month. I’ll try and post again tomorrow, but if not, there’s always next Friday! :)

Joe.

P.S. The optional text was in white. :)

P.P.S. Count the adverbs and fall asleep! One… two…

4 thoughts on “January in a nutshell

  1. When I read the first post-script, I actually began scrolling up to look for the optional text, because I hadn’t seen the first time :| … Good one ;)
    And congratulations on passing Grade 3 with merit!

Leave a Reply

