OT: Pens

From the person who brought you essay-length posts such as ‘CHOICE OF BEVERAGE’, ‘CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE ALLERGIC KIND’, and ‘TOOTHPASTE: ORIGINS’ comes an excitingly mundane stream-of-consciousness post called…

PENS!

OK, I think the whole concept of OT posts was to take the extremely run of the mill and make it vaguely interesting. Recently they’ve gotten a bit generic, talking about my hobbies and quirks – they’ve gotten away from their original intent… So I thought I would spice things up a little. Or rather, make things a little blander. :P Prepare yourself for the most melodramatic piece you have read for a while. And it’s on pens.

***

If I had the choice, I would always use pencils. They’re better in almost every way… they a) have erasability, b) don’t smudge in water (much), c) won’t run out of ink and d) have a bigger, and therefore better, range of colours. Alas, society frowns on extremists who hold such views.

I remember in primary school (elementary school for y’all Americans) it was a massive deal to be allowed to write with a pen. Until around Yr 3, you could only write in pencil as your handwriting wasn’t neat enough to use a Biro. I think the logic was that little kids used pencils so they could rub out their mistakes. I was one of the first in my year to move up to a pen, which will surprise many people, as… well, you’ll see.

Though in the beginning, I loved the sense of superiority using a pen gave me, my work did become a lot scruffier when I couldn’t just rub things out. I write things down without stopping to think, which is why typing is great because I can cross things out without you knowing. The only vestige of my pencil using days was Maths lessons. One of the weirdest things when starting secondary school was discovering they used pens for their maths work. Madness. Absolute madness.

I recently started using new-fangled erasable pens, and they were really great… but also really expensive, and slightly addictive. My neatness improved dramatically, but they don’t last long and are really inefficient for the price, so I gave them up a month ago. I would be lying if I said I haven’t looked back, but it’s been worth it. Today, I am officially erasable pen free for… well I used one today, so a few hours. But I’m improving.

My handwriting has been the subject of much debate. It has been variously described as ‘massive’ and ‘illegible’ by classmates, ‘unique’ and ‘flowing’ by some of my teachers (this is not a lie and I have the reports to prove it) and ‘a chicken’s scrawl’ by my sister. It may have been ‘a dead chicken’s scrawl’, but I can’t really remember. Personally, I think I have two styles of writing, which I will call ‘unique and flowing’, for my homework when I’m being obsessive,  and ‘a dead chicken’s scrawl’ for rough notes. My general style is somewhere between the two, but tending towards the dead chicken’s scrawl, even more so in timed tests. I am unaware of teaching qualifications, but I am sure that somewhere there’s a course on reading handwriting.

This will be wrapped up quickly as it is very late. I hope you enjoyed the post. :3

Joe.

9 thoughts on “OT: Pens

  1. Haha! I think you did this ‘mundane’ topic more than justice :P
    I too have a huge problem with using pens for Mathematics. When Maths gets hard, you make mistakes and have to do lots of scribbling out and it just looks terrible in pen. Pencil all the way!

    • Thanks, it was fun to write. :D

      Shh… the writing police will arrest you for such dangerous views. You shouldn’t talk about these things on the Internet. Everyone can see! :P

  2. Joe, I agree with you! Pencils all the way. Though, Tul pens are nice. You might like those.

    Primary school? What odd names you’ve got over there. I do have a question: What do you call cookies?

Leave a Reply

