Palm Sundays, Bucket Lists, Inactivity and more!

To make up for my absence this will be a mutant, hybrid, and quite possibly massive post, comprising religion, my inactivity and bucket lists. And anything else I can think of.

Today was Palm Sunday, which commemorates when Jesus made his triumphal entrance into Jerusalem and everyone waved palms around. We all get our own mini-crosses (made out of palms) which are blessed so we can’t throw them away. The problem is that we now have many many crosses mislaid around the house that have been accumulated throughout the years. I suppose we could send them off to be cremated for Ash Wednesday… in our wills. :P I kid.

Palm Sunday is the beginning of Holy Week, because in a short space of time you also have Maundy Thursday, when Jesus and his disciples had the Passover meal (i.e. the Last Supper) and Good Friday, when Jesus was brutally punished for crimes he didn’t commit in order to save the world. Hence the ‘good’. :P

On Maundy Thursday twelve people’s feet are also washed by the Priest because (as you guessed) this commemorates Jesus washing the feet of his disciples. I have eczema so I’m not going to be a foot model any time soon. I was a bit nervous at first signing up, but it’s a good step to become more confident, and… dare I say it? Sociable. Which leads onto holiday inactivity.

Holidays turn me insane. For most people they are fun, productive times in the sun or relaxing hours spent in bed. My holidays are generally less of the former and more of the latter due to my self imposed isolation. Perhaps it’s all part of my bigger unsociability? Outside of school I have very few acquaintances. I was friendly with most of my primary school classmates but I barely see them, let alone talk to them. This lack of other friends means that I have even less things to do. Hence me spending most of my time on the Internet. I know some people can happily waste away the holidays, but whenever I do such things (as I often do) I end up feeling really unfulfilled by the end of the day. Which leads us to my bucket list.

Guess what I did this time! No I did not bungee jump. Though I’ll probably do that next. I actually did something even more exhilarating. I solved a Rubik’s Cube.

In need of something to do for the Easter Holiday’s, my dad and sister decided to learn how to solve a Rubik’s Cube. I joined in and, after a number of days, I can do it! We used this series of Youtube videos by a guy called Math Meeting. I have two things to say about him. One, he can be a bit confusing at times, and he doesn’t  mention all the scenarios, so experiment a bit. And two – it’s maths America. Please.

I’ve decided not to do it again for a while because I always turn into a zombie when I try for too long. :P But do try it. Seriously.

This is all part of my new aim – to do five things on my bucket list by the end of the year. Go check it out every now and then – I’ve deleted some of them for being a bit too easy and added some new ones. By the end of the year, I hope to have also gone abroad without my parents, programmed a game and gone fishing. And another mystery one! We’ll see.

Joe.

P.S. My other aims is to read 20 more books on the BBC Big Read list. This probably sounds like a mammoth task, but my tactic is that 13 of these will be by Jacqueline Wilson, whose books I can read in a day if they’re all the same length as ‘Double Act’. The main reason I’ve kept away from these books in the past is that they’re considered girly books. But you know what? They’re on the list. I was going to read them anyway. So why not now?

Also I accidentally published the post incomplete, so if you were one of the lucky few who saw it in it’s draft stage, good for you!

11 thoughts on “Palm Sundays, Bucket Lists, Inactivity and more!

  1. You know, I’ve always wondered why you call it maths and not math. Now I see there’s a difference of opinions here. I know what you mean about holidays! And this will be a busy week, for sure!

Leave a Reply

