Tech Battle: iPad Air vs Pencil

Today is my first scheduled post! *yippee* It’s 8:00 so I’ll have to hurry up. I couldn’t really think of anything original today, so I’ll do something I’ve been meaning to do for a while – another Tech Battle! For the uninitiated ‘Tech Battles are when I pit two machines against each other (or one machine against it’s classic non-technological counterpart)’. That was plucked straight from my About page, which I should really update soon.

You may know that these battles have a bit of a reputations for being… biased, you might say. They tend to lean heavily towards one thing before the debate’s even started – and none more so than today!

First a bit of background. This advert was released back in 2013 (I’ve been putting this off for a while), and it still angers me to no end! *ahem* Sorry about that, this may get a bit emotional.

This just makes my blood boil in so many different ways. As I have already stated, I am a big advocate of the pencil, infinitely preferring them over pens, so when I first saw the advert I was thrilled, almost ecstatic for the pencil to finally get the hype it deserves. And then Apple had to take some crazy-thin iPad Air from out behind it! What? What! What (You know what, this deserves an interrobang). I take this personally and, as a self-proclaimed Apple fanboy, even I think they went too far.

You know what, let’s get to the comparisons…

Pencil

I’m not even going to list the many advantages of the pencil, because there will never be an exhaustive list. It’s that good. So what I’m going to do is quote the video because, before that horrendous last line, Apple had a pretty good advertisement… for pencils that is.

“It’s an extremely simple tool, but also extremely powerful. It can be used to start a poem, or finish a symphony. It has transformed the way we work, learn, create, share. It’s used to illustrate things, solve things, and think of new things. It’s used by scientists and artists, scholars and students. It’s been to classrooms, boardrooms, expeditions, even to space.”

As for disadvantages… does it have any? I suppose it doesn’t double up as a calculator, but it’s perfectly adept at doing calculations. True, you can’t get apps on it, but I would even dare to say the pencil can do more things than all the apps on the App Store combined. Well I suppose… nope, hang on. Perhaps it’s not Flash compatible? Oh no wait, that’s…

iPad Air

The iPad Air is probably an extremely useful tool. Although I haven’t used one, I have used an iPad, and they’re great. As I’ve previously stated, I love Apple –  but my allegiances only go so far. So rather than focus on what the iPad Air can do, because it can probably do a range of things, let’s see what the iPad Air cannot do. It can’t double up as a ruler, and it isn’t very good for drawing unless you have a stylus… it hasn’t transformed the way we work or learn considering that most classrooms still use HB pencils… I could go on for a while but I don’t really have time. ;)

I suppose it does have a slight advantage on the social media front, but let’s be honest… that’s very, very minor.

Conclusion

Pencil wins hands down. Just because. Pencil.

I’ll have to wrap this up because it’s now 10:00! (I wasn’t writing this post non-stop). The next post will be on Friday if all goes to plan, but we’ll see what happens. ;) Hopefully I’ll be a little less rushed, but I’m determined to stick to this schedule!

Joe

DISCLAIMER: This post should be taken as little more than a rant, and not a serious comparison – the iPad Air and the pencil are very, very different things.

2 thoughts on “Tech Battle: iPad Air vs Pencil

Leave a Reply

