Extrovert or Introvert?

As you may have noticed, I have attempted to drop the ‘OT’ tag from now on, since it’s pretty obvious which posts are Operation Toothpaste posts and which are not. We’ll see how that turns out.

I’m not entirely sure why this has happened, but recently everyone has been using the words ‘extrovert’ and ‘introvert’. A lot. For those not in the know…

An extrovert is some who finds happiness in social interaction and prefers time with friends as opposed to time alone in a room writing on a computer. Extrovert are generally quite talkative and energetic, and generally outgoing.

On the other end of the scale, introverts are happy when they spend some time alone with themselves. THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT INTROVERTS ARE LONELY. It just means they like to read a book more than they like shuffling around awkwardly at parties. They are more analytical and less energetic. They’re also quite reflective on life and all that jazz.

A few years ago, I was something of a full-on introvert. I was kind of unsociable, so I didn’t have that many close friends – and of course, I was horrible at parties. *Shudder* These are both pretty simple definitions; there’s lots more qualities of being an introvert, and I had and still have most of these extra ones as well – for example, I’m more of a watcher/listener than a talker, I have a close circle of really good friends rather than a large group of good friends… etc.

Today I’m still pretty much an introvert and the same person but some things have changed…

In a way, I have become a lot more introverted in the sense of being reflective. That doesn’t mean I grab a chair, sit in a corner of the room and think. Generally I do most of my thinking when I’m doing the involuntary things that allow you to think and do something else e.g. eating. Recently I’ve been doing a lot more thinking. This has nothing to do with the events happening around me, or that I have more spare time (if the homework is anything to go by I definitely don’t).

One of the reasons is in all probability that I’m editing my novel and trying to make my characters more lifelikish. At first this might not seem like that big a deal, but in order to do that, I tried for a week or so to notice people a bit more – you know, see what makes them tick.*

Anyway, it’s sort of become a bad habit. Even still, it has made me dissect myself a bit more. I won’t be sitting down and then suddenly go into detailed character analysis on myself, but

Well no… I would like to think I do that, but that whole thing was exaggerated a little. A lot. Even still, it does account (a bit) for why I’m more introvertish.

But at the same time I’ve also become more of an extrovert. Like I said, I used to be really unsociable, but now I have a lot more close friends. Still not comfortable with being in a party with strangers, so if anything, I’m still in my social cocoon, but it’s progress. ;)

I’m definitely an introvert (and the more I read into it, the more I realise how similar I am to that archetypal introvert person: see the article below). However, I don’t think it’s entirely accurate to say that the two are mutually exclusive, and I know that there is a little extrovert hiding inside.  in fact, it comes out of it’s own accord at times. The only problem is that in awkward situations where you’re forced to be social *ahem* parties *ahem* the extrovert is forced to come out, and flustered, makes bad jokes and alienates everyone. But that’s a story for another time. ;)

What about you? Introvert or extrovert?

Joe.

*Yes I know, this is the most stereotypical authoring activity ever, but you know, it sort of works. :/

Related articles
7 Positives Only Introverts Would Understand (lifehack.org)

P.S. As a side note, I think I’m settling back into the blogging groove and almost have a sort of schedule going, which is new: a post on Wednesday/Thursday, a post on Friday, and an OT post on Saturday. Annoyingly in the blogging side of things, half term is coming up soon and my schedule will undoubtedly fall to pieces. However in the life side of things, yay! There will hopefully be more posts in the holidays and things like that.

I also seem to be posting late at night… all the time. Not entirely sure why. :P

14 thoughts on “Extrovert or Introvert?

Leave a Reply

